News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Working on a green ITT 554

Started by Nilsog, July 12, 2011, 11:59:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nilsog

Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to the whole phone scene, and I've already got a couple of projects lined up I need to help with.

Firstly, I scored this 68 ITT 554 from a coworker whose mother died recently. When I first started looking into old phones I talked to him about where I might find one and he dropped this off at my house the next day. He told me it was a garage phone, which explains the grime all over it. Also, sorry I didn't remember to get a before picture before I already disassembled it and put it in the sink.

You can still see the grease and dirt caked to it. I couldn't handle the thing without ending up with greasy black hands.

It came out looking a lot cleaner, but now I've noticed that it seems faded in areas. Seems like there may have been stickers on it.

The hardwired handset cord was trashed, so I'm going to need another one.

The receiver cap is cracked as well, which doesn't bother me much but I probably will replace it if I can ever find another.

Heres the guts. I'm going to need some help hardwiring a modular cord on so I can use it.

Heres the oldest date I could find. Some of the parts had a year of 67.

So, to wrap it up-

I have to learn how to wire a new handset cord, as well as the modular cord. I also read another thread on some sort of hair product that seemed to bring back the color of the case... has anyone had a positive experience with that, and where can I find it in Maine? Last question is, where can I find a matching green cord and handset cap?

I appreciate any help you guys can give.

Ken
Ken

Kenny C

Nilsog,
Welcome to the forum.

Firstly if the cord does'nt have any breaks it will be fine to re-use. Here is a topic on how to do so. I bake mine at 200.