"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

AE50 dial card cover?

Started by dumb_old_guy, August 19, 2015, 08:25:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dumb_old_guy

Hi, all.
Newbie here. I have an Automatic Electric model 50 wall phone that I want to restore soon. It is missing its dial card--if that is the right term. The center of the dial is just open to the metal attachment gizmo.
I can print out a retro dial card, but was there a plastic cover over it like on the WE500 sets, or was it just an inked metal plate? I can't tell from the pictures I have seen online. If there is a clear plastic cover, are they available, or do I have to try to fabricate something?
Thanks!

cheers
Rob

HarrySmith

Short answer, Yes. There is a card retainer & cover that should be on it, The AE dial cards & cover have a lot of little cuts on them, not easy to cut by hand. Do you have a retainer? Maybe a picture would help? There are 3 different AE fingerwheels.
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

tptech302

Hi Rob,

Is it possible for you to post a picture so we have a better idea of the dial and what parts may be missing?

Josh

dumb_old_guy

Thanks guys. Yeah, I will post a picture.

cheers
Rob

NorthernElectric

Quote from: HarrySmith on August 19, 2015, 08:33:54 PMThe AE dial cards & cover have a lot of little cuts on them, not easy to cut by hand.

I made my own dial card and cover for my AE40.  I didn't bother with all of the fiddly cutting; just 2 little notches on each to line them up.  Maybe one of the elongated cutouts would have made it a bit easier to slide the locking lever into place, but it wasn't much trouble.  For the cover, I have been saving anything I get in that horrible clear plastic heat sealed packaging.  To cut it out, I just use the dial card as a template once I have printed and cut it.

Cliff

NorthernElectric