News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

powering Ackerman Boland (1906?) residential intercom

Started by GNCourtney, December 13, 2023, 05:19:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GNCourtney

I am new to this world, so any suggestions are welcome.

I have an Ackerman Boland intercom which I believe was installed in 1906. Five stations remain interconnected but appear to lack a power source. I am interested in advice on how to power the system and at what voltage. There appears to be a coil (9) wired with the system.

Any advice or instruction? Thanks in advance.

countryman

That's a true antique.
Relatively soon after the invention of the telephone, elaborate intercom systems appeared. Yours seems to be of the line selector type which requires quite extensive and complicated wiring. A lot of individual schematics existed in this early days. It would require a bit of research and analyzing to find out of what type this exact system was. Ackerman-Boland phones rarely appear at auctions, and information about the schematics used is not easily available to say the least.
The object in pictures 3 and 4 looks interesting, but I have no clue what it is...

AL_as_needed

That item in image 3 and 4 almost looks like a lightning arrestor. Also seems to be a red and green trip / ring pair running past there. Is it possible that this system could have been tied into an outside line at some point?
TWinbrook7

RDPipes

More photos would be nice, is this what your phone looks like?

countryman

Quote from: AL_as_needed on December 14, 2023, 08:12:43 AMIs it possible that this system could have been tied into an outside line at some point?

This seems not unlikely. I found a schematic for a similar system by Stromberg-Carlson in a 1910 book*):

IMG_20231214_171643_668.jpg