News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Western Electric 50AL versus 51AL

Started by davidbholcomb, November 15, 2012, 07:28:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidbholcomb

I just purchased my first 50AL CS with a 2AA dial and being a novice I think the phone may have been tinkered with. Below is a picture of the inside of the base. I understand that the difference between a 50AL and 51AL is a terminal block in the base. Does my 50AL  have the terminal block? If not, I would love to see an image of one. I am trying to figure out the whole wiring thing. I love when the old phones work and at this point this one is not. I think it may be wired wrong.
Dave, who still needs a Transmitter Bracket for the Automatic Electric Type 38 Handset.

poplar1

The 50AL has all of the connections made on the rack where the hookswitch is, other than the other end of the dial cord, which has 4 conductors. The dial cord connects on the side opposite from the hookswitch. There is no separate terminal block in the base. The hookswitch has 3 leaves. The cord to the subset has 3 conductors (sidetone).

The 51AL has one terminal block as in the photo and uses a 3-conductor wiring harness from the base to the rack. Like the 50AL, the hookswitch has 3 leaves and the cord to the subset has 3 conductors.

The 151AL has two terminal blocks in the base, a 5-conductor wiring harness, and a 4-leaf hookswitch. The 5-conductor harness is usually like the one in the photo: a cloth covered 3-conductor cord from a 51AL that has the extra two wires wrapped around the cloth-covered cord. The cord to the subset has 4 conductors (anti-sidetone.)