News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Tii Technologies

Started by Babybearjs, December 10, 2018, 02:06:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Babybearjs

just wanted to ask, I have a whole house DSL filter on my NID. it was given to me by a friend. The brand is Tii and I looked through their Catalog and am wondering, what brands do the current phone companies go with for parts? or is it up to the individual techs?
John

CanadianGuy

I'm a contractor for BellMTS, and they've supplied us with a bunch of different brands and models over the years. Wilcom, Excelsus, Comtest. Oddly enough, we started getting Tii parts within maybe the past year, but only their "voice intercom switch" for cutover/porting of the customers existing number from the competitor.

That allows us to go in, connect all services, then the port request goes through within 3 business days. After that, the customer can disconnect the competitors phone equipment and return it. They used to have us go out on the dute date of the port request, but I think the competition saw that port request and would convince the customer to stay with them before we could make it out. I guess they finally wised up, since I've seen Shaw porting switches in homes for years! It's very competitive, even though landline service is going away quicker by the day it seems.

Babybearjs