News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

12 phones and have no idea what I am doing.. Take a look..

Started by Everwood, February 03, 2011, 09:46:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Everwood

Hello thanks for taking the time to check these out... I could really use some help.
My ex-boss is retiring and he handed me a box of phones that he collected when he first started out with Bell.  They were still making rounds to replace party lines with the newer sets.  He always wanted to restore them.. but gave up and well now I have them..
I just started learning this stuff yesterday so please bare with me...
Here is a basic run down of what is pictured (from what I can gather)

WE 302 metal (4/40 base, 4/40 bell, 2/40 coil ... no dial.. just a blank)

WE 302 metal (12/39 base, 5/48 bell, 4/39 coil.. has dial can't see date yet)

WE 302 plastic (1/48 base, 1/48 bell, 1/48 coil, 1/48 cover .. cant see dial date)

WE 302 plastic (12/47 base, 12/47 bell, 4/47 coil, 12/47 cover, ?/54 dial) (WORKS)

WE 302 plastic w/ major melting damage to cover (4/48 base, 4/48 bell, 2/48 coil, blank dial) 

WE 500 black (6/54 bell, 6/54 coil, 6/56 dial)

WE 500 Ivory/Cream? (5/60 base, 2/60 bell, 5/60 coil, 5/60 dial)

WE 444? 6 button key system phone no lights ('46 coil, '46 cover, 6/46 base)

WE 354? wall phone black (5/50 base, 5/50 bell, 11/50 coil, 7/72 dial)

WE Trimline? cream, touch-tone, has stamp "Bell Systems Property" on base and dated 5/80

2 Leich convertible wall/desk phones.. base dated 1/56 and 3/56 (haven't opened them up yet)

AE speaker with mic box??  Has L7034 stamped on the schematic paper inside larger base.  L7033 stamped under separate smaller speaker box.  Can't find any dates anywhere.  My boss says this may go with the 6 button key system phone. ??

So.. if you were handed this box of phones.. where would you start?  What would you do first?