News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

My phones saved the day, for real!

Started by Nilsog, November 30, 2012, 06:14:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nilsog

I know I haven't posted here in a while, but I have to share this story with you guys. If anything, it will make you smile.

For those of you who don't know, I'm a career firefighter. I work in a shared public safety building with the local police department.

Today while we were eating lunch, the phones started malfunctioning, and eventually the entire phone system (Based on a Vertical DX-120 PBX) died. We had no phones at all in the PSB.

Being a quick thinker and knowing I could bypass the PBX with a straight line telephone, I called my wife and had her bring in two model 500s and my only model 2500. I managed to hook them all up and contacted our dispatch center to advise them we could be reached again but we had no voicemail, hold, or transfer capabilities.

We have been running on my old phones since noon time and it's now just past 6pm my time... The tech that arrived brought the wrong equipment and I don't expect him to return for another 4 hours, so we will continue using them. The phones have performed admirably, just as I suspected.

So there is my story, I expect I'll be able to take the phones home at the end of my shift tomorrow at 7, but for now I will enjoy the fact that I managed to save the day with my collection of old telephones!
Ken

Phonesrfun

Great story, Ken.  You give too much credit to the actual phones, however.  I think you should take an great deal of the credit for your thinking and putting the plan into practice!  :)

Hopefully, you won't have any trains derailing in your area and need to really put the phones to use.  Ha ha
-Bill G

Nilsog

The police have been running steady all day, I don't think the phones have seen this many calls in a couple decades!