News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Best Vintage Kitchen Stand Mixer?

Started by HobieSport, January 28, 2010, 09:53:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jsowers

Some of the best chefs are men. There are lots of men who work in bakeries for a living. It's hard work. Like the guy on the Dunkin Donuts commercial (gotta get up and make the donuts). A mixer is really just another tool like a wrench or a belt sander. And guys like tools.
http://www.entertonement.com/clips/nzspyskpqz--GruntTim-Allen-Home-Improvement-Tim-Taylor-

Bill, it looks like we have the same MixMaster. (see my picture posted earlier). I've used mine for over 20 years without fail.
Jonathan

Bill Cahill

Quote from: jsowers on January 29, 2010, 10:33:52 AM
I have a Sunbeam Mixmaster from the 50s (or maybe late 40s) I use as a juicer. I like old appliances and have an old Sunbeam toaster too--the rounded Art Deco T-9 model like Briny also has. His can be seen here...

http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1292.0;attach=5981;image

At Christmastime I make hot spiced tea that uses fresh lemon juice and orange juice and that Mixmaster makes short work of it. It's so old that it has a tinned metal strainer that attaches to the spout on the juicer. I think later models had the strainer in the bowl of the juicer. Inside the bowl is a ceramic reamer. I can juice six oranges and four lemons, sliced in two, in about three minutes, and all the way down to the rind. The strainer is coarse and lets some pulp through, but not the seeds.