"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Strange handset for a WE302

Started by sammytheboyboy, March 23, 2014, 10:55:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sammytheboyboy

Hello All,

My name is Rich and I am a newbie to the forum. I recently picked up a WE 302 with a metal case in a local antique shop for a steal. It has a handset on it that I never saw before on a 302. Can anyone identify this? It has no markings on it anywhere. It is bakelight. I have included pictures. Thanks in advance!

poplar1

"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

persido

Nice looking 302, the dial card is great.

Scot

sammytheboyboy

Thanks! Picked it up for $55.00 working. Just needed a good cleaning!

TelePlay

Did you open it up? It could be a Northern Electric phone with a WE dial and a North handset. I have a Northern Electric metal shell 1941 "302" with an WE F1W handset but and AE dial. The capacitor and other internal parts are also not WE. Just saying you may actually have a Northern Electric phone, not a WE phone.

Regardless, nice looking phone. I love, and have quite a few, any black "302" phone, metal or plastic.

poplar1

North Electric (Galion, Ohio) phone is wider. Northern Electric (Québec) and Western Electric made 302s.

You have a North Electric handset on a Western Electric or Northern Electric 302. If you look inside, you can tell if the phone is Western or Northern; Northern has patent dates inside.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

paul-f

Welcome to the forum.

One of the fun aspects of collecting is finding sets like this that have mismatched components.  It's especially common in areas served by independent (non Bell System) phone companies.  Most of the parts were reasonably compatible, so they could repair phones with whatever parts they had on hand.