News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Unable to locate a 684AT subset diagram

Started by j.bridwell, March 23, 2009, 09:45:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

j.bridwell

I have a Western Electric subset labeled 684AT.  Nowhere can I find a wiring diagram.  The connections are labeled GND, BK, K, and E.  The previous owner connected four-conductor wiring, but has only two from the subset to the receiver.  I thought it would use at least three.  The phone does ring and works for incoming calls, but I'd like to see a diagram if one is available.  Any help is appreciated.  I can supply pictures if that would be helpful.

j.bridwell

Quote from: Steve K on March 23, 2009, 09:50:59 PM
Hi:

Try this link, it should be close to what you have.

http://www.telephonecollectors.org/library/weco/634684a.pdf

Steve

Thanks.  I've seen this one before.  Forgive my ignorance, but I'm new to these telephones.  I'm just not seeing L1 or L2 in my set so I don't know where to connect the incoming leads.  Not even sure if I'm following the tip party, ring party, or individual station.

bingster

The terminals that are marked GND, BK, K, and E are all on a terminal board.  The L1, L2Y, etc. terminals are on the induction coil.  You may have a induction coil in your subset that is small with the terminals arranged around the coil in a "U" shape, or you may have an older induction coil that has wooden blocks on the end with the terminals on top of the blocks. 

I'm not sure what the "AT" designation is for.  Does yours have a glass vacuum tube in it by any chance?  If it does, disconnect all wiring for the tube and tape the connectors so they don't make contact with anything.