News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

My Telephone Collection - davidbholcomb

Started by davidbholcomb, October 23, 2012, 12:45:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidbholcomb

Well I am new to this but thought I would share in case anyone had anything to add. Here is my collection as of now. Yes, it is missing a rotary CS but maybe someday.

#1 1907 Milwaukee Telephone & Mfg. Co. Wall Phone

#2 Kellogg  Candlestick  I was disappointed when I got it because the transmitter does not work.

#3 Stromberg Carlson Candlestick Works great.

#4 Western Electric Bower-Barff 40AL Candlestick  I have to replace all the wires. Do not know if it will work yet.

#5 1936 Western Electric D1 (202) From Los Angeles Works great. I have to get my 684A subset wired up to this.

#6 1938 Western Electric 302 Works great.

#7  Lineman's handset aka a Butt phone or Buttinski phone. The story behind the "Buttinski" name I find hilarious. If someone can show me that there was a real guy by the name Buttinski who invented this phone I would love it.

http://holcombs.net/phone.html
Dave, who still needs a Transmitter Bracket for the Automatic Electric Type 38 Handset.

Dennis Markham

Welcome to the Forum, David.  I especially like the  D1/E1 with the rural dial plate and NOrmandy dial card.  Nice looking phone.  You have a nice collection started there.

davidbholcomb

Thanks for the welcome Dennis. I am just a novice and have several books ordered so someday I will know the ins and outs of dials. The phone is from Los Angeles and LA had a NOrmandy exchange so I wonder why the rural dial plate.

Quote from: Dennis Markham on October 23, 2012, 05:41:39 PM
Welcome to the Forum, David.  I especially like the  D1/E1 with the rural dial plate and NOrmandy dial card.  Nice looking phone.  You have a nice collection started there.