News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

1951 Zenith Super Trans-Oceanic H500 Short Wave Radio

Started by HobieSport, December 08, 2008, 06:52:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HobieSport

Well I bit the bullet and bought my first radio to refurbish.  For awhile I was looking at all the nice polished refurbished wood cabinets but I realized that I'd rather put the money in the functionality.  Actually I really like how the basic black cabinet looks; like it really means business!

And I was thinking pre-refurbished, but then, what's the fun in that? ;)

The seller says he's used it for years  but the signal finally just slowly petered out.  I'm new to radios so I'll undoubtedly have lot's of questions. So, what do you think, guys? The more I read up on these radios the better they sound.  Real workhorses...er...workcamels? :)

BDM

Nice sets, but, several thing you should be aware of. Namely, the series string filaments for the tubes. DO NOT power the set up, and pull or install tubes. You can damage one. Hopefully you have the 1L6 osc tube, and hopefully it's still good. Now, this isn't what I consider a beginners set by any means. Email me and we can talk further about getting it going. I have an extensive T/O collection myself ;)
--Brian--

St Clair Shores, MI

HobieSport

Thanks BDM.  Glad to know you are familiar with these sets.  Do you have a favorite T/O model?
I just ordered the set off Ebay today so it will be a few days in transit.  I won't power it up without consulting you first. How will I tell if it has a 1L6 osc tube; just by the part/tube numbers?
Looking forward to getting it tuned up and running, and hope I haven't bit off more than I can chew for a beginner.  I'll work slowly and patiently on it.

bingster

He means the radio came with a 1L6, but the tube is so valuable on it's own, that it's often found to be "missing."