"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Powering up a 557A Cord Board

Started by simonwolfe, February 28, 2018, 05:30:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

simonwolfe

Hello All,

Someone gave me an old 557A cord board.  it appears to be in pretty good shape and has tags on it dating it to around 1960-61.   The board came with a WECo 101G power supply which is from a 1A1 Key system. 

Unfortunately, I have very little knowledge on how to wire up a 557A.  I know that the vast majority of the board is secretarial lines that  should be connected to a CO and for the most part I can't do a whole lot with them. However, I believe I can tie my house line to one of the trunk lines and use it a a very large telephone set.  I also think that I can tie in two WeCo 500 telephone sets to the station lines and a) connect either of them to the trunk  b) connect them together and talk to myself. 

Thus far my "experimentation" has not yielded any great break throughs.  When the house line is tied to the first trunk line I get nothing.  When I tie in the power supply I get some relays to "click" and lights on the cords to light. I also can get dial tone on the trunk line but I have to wiggle the dial to do that, other than that I got nothing.   Also, I can't seem to pass the DT to either of the 500's or connect the 500's to each other.

So, the best I can tell I must be doing something wrong. I have a copy of the BSP for it but as far as I can tell it is a bit vague as to what power needs are and how to tie in the power.

Can you guys have any ideas?  Also, if you want I can go take some photos of it if that would help.

Thanks!

RB

Don't know about that board, but would suppose if you are getting lights, you must be close.
there should be a block of connection points on the back where power ties in.