News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Got 11 phones today, one I need help identifying.

Started by Snake, February 25, 2012, 03:35:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Snake

So I got a bunch of phones from a guy today, really nice guy, most of the phones are 500's, 2500's, 544's, a mickey mouse phone. But then there's this one Stromberg Carlson phone, and it has a kellogg handset. I have opened the phone up and it looks like it's missing alot? Or is it? The handset looks really nice, and I might have an idea to what it might go to. Thanks in advance for your help with the identification. ;D

Snake

I'm pretty sure that handset is to a kellogg red bar, and I think the base is missing alot  :-[

canuckphoneguy

First of all - how lucky are you to get 11 phones in 1 day!!  ;D

I'm no expert, but it does look to me that the inside is missing a lot - wires seem to not be where they should be.

AE_Collector

Since there is no dial, no ringer and no cords it looks pretty empty inside. Add any or all of the above and it is probably a complete phone. The only wires I see are the switch hook wires connected to the network.

Terry

G-Man

Most Likely this model does not contain network components and is intended for use with an existing, separate magneto/ringer box for magneto service.

It was a common practice for manufacturers to provide instruments of this nature so telcos could offer more modern-styled instruments so their subscribers would not feel their service was so antiquated.

Adam

Dudes!  That black box with the screw terminals IS a network, isn't it?

Or am I just looking at the picture wrong?

The phone just looks "empty" because it has no ringer, has no handset wired to it, and has no dial.

Adam Forrest
Los Angeles Telephone - A proud part of the global C*Net System
C*Net 1-383-4820

HarrySmith