"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

I think I was robbed!

Started by sammytheboyboy, April 12, 2014, 04:12:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sammytheboyboy

Hello Everyone,
Since I am a newbie to this phonitis disease, I was wondering what you think of this phone I bought on E-Bay. The person selling it said he didn't know much about it but he thought it was worth something. I looked closely at the pics and saw the handset said Leich on it. There were no pics of the inside but it looked old and authentic to me. Then when I received it, I opened it up to find this. (Pictures attached). It has a warbler in it and looks to have a newer AE Dial with a plastic fingerwheel and some new electronics. I am ashamed to say what I paid for it. Collector? or rejecter? Thanks, Rich

rdelius

This is a Leich telephone that has been rebuilt, possibly by Phoneco.The only parts that i see that are not old are the cords,Dial fingerwheel,The dial is somewhat later but loooks the same from the outside,modern tweeter and network. You got the older handset that most refurbishers replace with a newer one.Cloth cords and possibly a metal AE dial fingerwheel would make the set look more origional.

TelePlay

Quote from: rdelius on April 12, 2014, 05:46:20 PM
This is a Leich telephone that has been rebuilt, possibly by Phoneco.

So, what was the original configuration of this desk set. Looks like it is missing a "subset" box that contained a battery and an "extension type" ringer by the wiring diagram. No magneto? Please explain, inform further.

rdelius