News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

restoration of a 75z receiver element for a 143/144 receiver

Started by Darkstar2006, January 14, 2023, 01:39:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darkstar2006

I promised on the "trouble shooting" thread that if I decided to try to rewire one of the bad coils in a 75z receiver element i'd share it.
Ok, I am NO expert of for that matter not even a phone collector. I just have a few old phones in my house cause I like the way they ring. I'm not going to bore you with how, where or why i purchased the 75z.
Hopefully the pictures upload.
Tools and supplies
#40 copper ENAMALED magnet wire 48 feet, a small 3/4 to 1 inch thread spool to transfer the wire to, fly fishing tools (a beter quality bobbin, bobbin threader, fly vice) solder tools. 

FIRST. I needed info on the OHMs of the receiver coils. the good coil ohm out at about 43 ohms. which would be about 85 ohms for both coils. Ralph Meyer's repair book seems to confirm that. However, "G-MAN" has documentation showing 75 ohms for the same 143/144 receiver. I didn't see that post until after I completed the restoration. So I went with 85 total ohms. (a Kellogg element i have also ohm out at 85.

SECOND. diagnosis. Using a volt/ohm meter that also has a continuity setting i found which coil was bad.   

THIRD. coil removal, VERY DELICATE, each coil sits on one of the iron bars that are connected at the opposite magnet end. They are connected in series.
A. I desoldered the bad coil from its terminal connection and where it's connected to the other coil.
B. Using a Dremel cutting wheel, I gently cut the welds on the metal oval retainer cap. There are 2 oval cardboard insulators under that. Remove all and set aside. REMEMBER IT 80 TO 100 YEARS OLD
C. remove the bad wire form the insulator, AGAIN GENTLY. DO NOT TRY TO REMOVE THE INSULATON WITH THE WIRE ON IT!