News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

AE 40 help needed

Started by kozzy, November 27, 2016, 04:58:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kozzy

I just picked up an old automatic electric model 40 desk phone. I am new to phone repair, so bear with me. I added a temporary modular cord to test it. Heres what i got.

1. When i plug it in i get a dial tone. I cannot hang up the phone when i place the handset back on the cradle.
2. I disconnected the ringer. I figured it might be backfeeding through the ringer coil staying conneted when i hang up. This disconnects the phone. I cannot dial out on this phone. I suspect the 1uf capacitor should be removed. Most of the pictures i see do not have this installed.

I am pretty sure this is a common ringer wired phone. The 3rd wire went to a connection that was not used

Any help would be appreciated, please forgive my newness at this.

The phone neexs cleaned. I plan on doing this after i have operation so the pictures do not convey all the info.

LarryInMichigan

The first thing to verify is that your phone service supports pulse dialing.

Larry

AE_Collector

That is an old timer...note the metal dial mounting bracket.

Many AE 40's do have two capacitors rather than just one "dual capacitor" mounted on the baseplate. Need a picture of the baseplate including capacitor and ringer.

The third lead of the cord allows for grounded ringing used with party line service.

Terry

kozzy

Ok, not sure if my phone line supports pulse dialing. I will have to check on that one.
Now, would the ringer coils be high enough impedance to make the system think the phone is still off of the reciever?

LarryInMichigan

Quote from: kozzy on November 27, 2016, 10:23:07 PM
Ok, not sure if my phone line supports pulse dialing. I will have to check on that one.