News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

A space-saver... wait a Space Maker - I just bought on Ebay. :)

Started by shortrackskater, October 27, 2017, 06:36:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shortrackskater

I just bought this on eBay for $45. It was put up as a buy-it-now or best offer, for $49 and I thought that was already a good price.
It was advertised as an AE and I think it is. I'm new to these. I'll wire it up and plug it in when I get home. The dial is smooth. I can't tell if the handset is original but the paint seems to be close... receiver and transmitter caps are off yellow and the handset is "more yellow." That might just be normal discoloration.
Mark J.

HarrySmith

Nice! It is an AE and the name is actually correct, the Spacesaver name belonged to AE. It is hard to tell from the pictures but the color appears original. One more good thing is the AE does not need a subset, it contains a network but there is no ringer. Good buy!
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

jsowers

That looks to be an ivory AE 183 SpaceMaker and the price was pretty good. The SpaceSaver was more a WE invention and AE used "maker" so as not to infringe on copyrights most likely. It could have discoloration very easily from UV exposure or smoking. Older AE plastics are rarely found without discoloration of some sort. You could have paint, but more likely it's just colored plastic.

From the repair date on the back you can tell it's older than January, 1968 because that's when the sticker went on it. Unlike the WE version of this phone, the AE SpaceMaker has its own network inside, so it can hook directly to the phone line with no subset required. As Harry said, it doesn't have a ringer, so you need to get an extension ringer if you want it to ring.