"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

New Guy Here with some basic WE 500 questions

Started by HobieSport, October 14, 2008, 10:16:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HobieSport

Howdy all,

I hope there is room for a newbie here.  I don't have any expertize to offer but do have enthusiasm, so I'll probably just be a lurker (the good kind) here mostly, but I do have some questions for now before I get my first couple of phones.

I'd like to start with a classic basic black WE 500 and use it as my actual main phone (with a regular new phone for modern functions when needed) so it needs to be in good running condition.

I grew up with a WE 540 and a WE 500 and for family sentimental reasons am considering a 1954 or a 1957.

Here's my first question:  I found a 1957 500 on Ebay in good condition for about $50, but the seller says it is "An ITT (not ATT) built with a WE patent".  Does that mean it's not a real Western Electric?  Might it be inferior?  I'm not so concerned about it's value as a collectible; as about it's quality as a functioning phone.  Should I hold out for a genuine Western Electric or is there even a difference?

My second question is, since this will be my main working phone, and actual function is more of a concern than sentiment, should I be looking at different years for a Western Electric 500 other than 1954 or 1957? Something newer?  Anything will do for me as long as it's basic and classic and rotary, and any color will do as long as it is black.  ;) I tend to like common classic things much as I appreciate rarity.

For example, there are these:

http://www.oldphones.com/servlet/Detail?no=67

and:

http://www.oldphones.com/servlet/Detail?no=44

I don't know what years they are made but I'll ask.