News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

New to payphones - need ID and keys

Started by Bill, December 03, 2012, 05:30:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill

My apologies for asking questions that are probably obvious. This is my first time around this particular track.

I have a chance to buy this phone for what I think is a good price. First question - who made it?

Second question. The owner does not have keys. How do I handle that? I queried Jody H, and he said No, he could not handle it - without explanation. My very uneducated guess is that he would need physical access to the phone, which clearly cannot be shipped from southern Arizona to Pasadena in any practical sense. So what is my next step?

Or is this thing a boat anchor and nothing more?

Sorry I don't have a better picture.

Bill

[Rummaging around payphone.com, it looks kinda like an Elcotel Series 5 in a 104FT enclosure?]

kleenax

Quote from: Bill on December 03, 2012, 05:30:46 PM
My apologies for asking questions that are probably obvious. This is my first time around this particular track.

I have a chance to buy this phone for what I think is a good price. First question - who made it?

Second question. The owner does not have keys. How do I handle that? I queried Jody H, and he said No, he could not handle it - without explanation. My very uneducated guess is that he would need physical access to the phone, which clearly cannot be shipped from southern Arizona to Pasadena in any practical sense. So what is my next step?

Or is this thing a boat anchor and nothing more?

Sorry I don't have a better picture.

Bill

[Rummaging around payphone.com, it looks kinda like an Elcotel Series 5 in a 104FT enclosure?]

Boat Anchor Bill.......OR, you can take out the insides and make a nice box for kitty litter ;-)
Ray Kotke
Recumbent Casting, LLC

rdelius