"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Baby blue GPO 746

Started by gpo706, September 28, 2011, 07:03:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gpo706

Nice!

"Originally a cream 746 dial phone, this phone was updated with a baby blue colour and new phone socket connector.  Fab loud ring but unfortunately the phone crackles.  As I'm not an expert in this field I have not been able to fix it but I'm sure someone can.  Otherwise in excellent condition."

11.50 all in, didn't expect to win it, the crackle sounds like a TX replacement, easy peasy, (I think)!

Not standard GPO/BT colour, hoping its not a paint job, doesn't seem so looking at the differering shades.

This will get a "Concorde blue" line and handset cord, better than the black one fitted at the moment.

The alpha-numeric dial plate is a bonus.

"now this should take five minutes, where's me screwdriver went now..?"

GG

Nice to see a 746 in light blue, and surprising that GPO didn't issue them in that color originally.  Light green would have been nice as well. 

IMHO that one's almost certainly painted, but apparently whoever does these is doing a darn good job with the paint, much as the Bell System used to do in the US.    (Though, tell us if it's light blue plastic, that would be highly surprising, it would indicate that someone is remanufacturing those housings.)

If the phone is put into use, the paint will tend to wear off on the handset and cradle, so I would regard this as a display model rather than as something to use every day.