News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

PBX question

Started by Whitcrane76, April 06, 2019, 07:20:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Whitcrane76

After seeing everyone with pbx systems wired up to their collections I'm getting the itch. I want that!  Only problem is, I have zero pbx knowledge. I do however have two old systems. That being said, are they good for anything/will they work? Somebody lay some systems tech. knowledge on me.
Or let me know what I need to find that will work.

skyrider

They are not PBX, they are Key Telephone Systems. The one with the wire spring relays is a 1A1 KTS with a 207 dial intercom, 9 stations IIRC. I wired up many of these during my time in the USAF. We were many years behind the Bell System. The KTS with the 400H cards is a 1A2 I think it's a 551C which had the nickname shoe box because of it's shape. Both KTS have value and would be fun to play with. I have 3 or 4 551 KTS units which I remove from crawl spaces and equipment rooms after 2000 and they had been out of service for years. They both work with T R in, T R out, A A1 for control leads, lamp Lamb ground for lights, and R1B1 for common ringing or buzzer. I have a 1A1 System I got from a building being torn down, can't remember what Key Telephone Units are in it. I also found a few 1A units in a building in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina.

Bill Compton

Whitcrane76

Quote from: skyrider on April 06, 2019, 09:04:40 PM