"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Ringer Will not Work Western 193G

Started by a1parrothead, December 16, 2012, 06:25:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

a1parrothead

Hello to all,

As will become painfully apparent to all of you, I am completely new to all of this. I have a Western Electric 193G 3 coin payphone. I understand that I will probably never be able to use the coin function. But I have hooked it up to my phone jack using a 2 wire plug, the center red and green wires only.

It works fine with dialing and talking but will not ring. Is there a fix for this? I read about moving only one wire on some smaller rotary phones to make them ring. Is there a wire I can move or something?

Any help would be appreciated!

Jeff

(Also, I said above that I knew I probably would never be able to use the coin part. I read that on the internet. Is it true, or is it possible?)

LarryInMichigan

Those phones did not have internal ringers.  Does yours have a ringer?

Larry

a1parrothead

Larry,
  When I take off the front and flip it over, it has a bell in it. I assumed this was the ringer??

DavePEI

Quote from: a1parrothead on December 16, 2012, 06:34:07 PM
Larry,
 When I take off the front and flip it over, it has a bell in it. I assumed this was the ringer??
No, Larry is correct. If the thing you think is a ringer is located inside the front cover, it is the dime and nickel gong, not a ringer. Close to is is a coiled gong, which is for the quarter sound.

These give the ding, ding ding, and Bong sounds when you drop a nickel, dime and quarter into the phone.

Unless you are prepared to purchase a quite expensive controller for the phone (200-300), you will not be able to get it to work as a payphone. Enjoy it as a phone only.