News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Is this a rare dial???

Started by Dan, October 29, 2011, 06:28:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dan

"Imagine how weird telephones would look if our ears weren't so close to our mouths." - Steven Wright

Kenny C

I think it's a #1. I've seen pictures and it has stop on the finger wheel. I'm no expert but I think thats what it is.
In memory of
  Marie B.
1926-2010

ESalter

It's a number 1.  I've always thought those were cool dials, the porcelain number ring rotates with the finger wheel.  You can see that in one of the photos where the 2 digit is sideways by the fingerstop.  I'm betting it'll sell for a hefty amount.  Really a cool dial though.  ...Maybe I'll come up with one someday.

Doug Rose

Bingster......this is perfect for Name That Price!!!!

they don't get anymore rare than this!!!....Doug

My guess is $3500
Kidphone

rdelius

#1 with the impulse cam post broken off
Robby

Doug Rose

With a dial this rare, only the Dial King of AZ would be worthy to repair! ...Doug
Kidphone

Willytx

That's a great dial card, is anyone making reproductions? Some people now would need instructions on how to dial a rotary phone.

HarrySmith

Looks like Mr. Helpful spotted it and chimed in!
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

GG

Darn, and I was going to call the seller's phone number and offer him a quick $300 for that one! :-)

Someone among us is going to have to track down Mr. Helpful and helpfully offer to keep his liquor cabinet well-stocked at times like these, so he has "better things to do" than posting "helpful tips" when he has a bunch of friends visiting and whooping it up.  And if he doesn't drink, then a lifetime supply of free pizza coupons and movie rentals would be good.