"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Princess 2702 BMG not working help!

Started by Twodotts, August 18, 2017, 06:42:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Twodotts

Hi,
I am new to this forum.  Hope I am posting correctly in the right category. I have very little knowledge
on phone repair so please bear with me.  I purchased a princess 2702 BMG and it was advertised
as a working phone. I contacted the seller after receiving the phone and they assured me it had been tested and performed all functions. I also purchased a transformer and  a splitter jack so the light
would work. The phone has a dialtone but you cant dial out or receive calls, the light does not work.
The phone does ring when we get an incoming call.  I would really appreciate any help that you can give me. I have wanted one of these princess phones for a long time and would really like to get it
working.
Thank you,
Twodotts

compubit

Splitting the issue into two parts:

1) You can't dial out.
2) The light doesn't work.
I'm assuming otherwise the phone is working (you get a dial town and can answer a call; you did mention that the phone rings.

1) if when you press the tone keys, the receiver (where you'd hear the tones) is muted, and you sorts of hear a little "blip" of something, then you probably have reversed polarity on the line or in the cord. Swap the red and green connectors (connection points L1 and L2 on the network, I believe) coming from the line jack (inside the phone) and chances are that the tone pad will work.

2) This will take a Little more troubleshooting, as there are several things it could be:
- bad transformer
- miswired jack
- bad light bulb
- 4 conductor cable
In this case, a Volt meter is extremely useful.
- Ensure you have a 4-conductor phone cable - a 2 conductor cable doesn't have the wires for the light