News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

NEWBIE WeCo 550-C PBX Info wanted

Started by BigBird0000, June 17, 2017, 11:56:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigBird0000

I just picked up a Western Electric 550-C PBX.
It has the schematic with it, but I am new to phones,
and was wondering if there is any additional info besides the schematic that is available.
It appears to have all the parts.

The Dial doesn't return after rotating  to fingerstop, is there a way to ID the dial so I can find a spring(think its missing) to repair?

Thanks
--alan

https://ibb.co/album/iBsfrF  --->  ( images copied from external hosting site and attached below )

unbeldi

Welcome !

The board looks nice, but the dial is was added later and is not by Western Electric.

The dial is a Type 24A36 by Automatic Electric Company.  They are easily found.

I am wondering, however, whether it be better to use a Western Electric dial instead, but the board may have been modified for use with the AE dial.   Reviewing the schematics would provide an answer.

Did you remove the wires from the dial, or was it there just for decoration ?

unbeldi

Hmm.  That board actually looks familiar.  Didn't that sell on eBay just recently ?

BigBird0000

The wires were as is.  The dial fits and holds in the metal clip. I am not used to the WE Schematics, so I am going to scan it in to my computer, and whiten background to make it easier.

Yes, it was the one ebay.

Any known installation info on these, or what would be similar? I didn't find on TCI.

Alex G. Bell

Quote from: BigBird0000 on June 17, 2017, 12:52:23 PM
The wires were as is.  The dial fits and holds in the metal clip. I am not used to the WE Schematics, so I am going to scan it in to my computer, and whiten background to make it easier.

Yes, it was the one ebay.

Any known installation info on these, or what would be similar? I didn't find on TCI.