News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

What's wrong with this GPO 706?

Started by InterestedNewbie, October 01, 2016, 09:02:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

InterestedNewbie

I'm completely new to phones and picked up a GPO 706 at a local auction hoping to convert it. Opening it up shows this is missing a screw head - with the head loose inside the case - and a lot of blue powder on top of it, with the silvery surface flaking off. What exactly could have happened to this and is it completely shot? I'm guess extreme heat at some point hence the flaking surface and possibly causing a head to be scorched off? I've cleaned it up a bit.

It's a wired 706, not the printed circuit board.

I've noticed the bell-ringing arm is off-balance too and only seems to hit one bell. I haven't rewired and connected it up as I don't want to waste any time on it until I know what I'm dealing with.

Jim Stettler

It looks like battery acid  corrosion to me . Those are the ringer coils not a transformer. the coils are electro- magnets that energize  alternately  to move the clapper back and forth between the gongs.

I think the clapper will probably hit both gongs  when ringing.
You should try hooking it up and testing it tosee what happens.

JMO,
Jim S.
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

TelePlay

Quote from: InterestedNewbie on October 01, 2016, 09:02:02 AM
Opening it up shows this is missing a screw head - with the head loose inside the case  . . .

I've never had a GPO 706 so are the screws on each side of that metal "block" the ringer mounting screws? If so, a lost head would not be a problem in taking out the ringer, removing what's left of the screw, cleaning everything and getting new mounting screws.

It looks like some sort of bi-metal corrosion. Is there any corrosion at the base of the screws, where the screw into the base?

twocvbloke