News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE302 finger dial does not return

Started by RAW302, September 05, 2013, 11:34:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RAW302

I recently purchased a WE302 (all dates 4/50) on Ebay.  The dial moved freely in both directions when I bought it but now the finger dial gets stuck and won't return to the original position without my help.  For example, I dial the number 2, release at the finger stop, the wheel retracts maybe 1/2" and then sticks there until I give it a counterclockwise nudge.  Then it returns to the original position.  Same story for every number on the dial, every time.   I'm a newbie.  Love my phone, use my phone, want to understand my phone and how to troubleshoot this problem.  Thanks for your expertise.
Rachel

AE_Collector

Welcome to the classic phone forum!

Have you removed the base to see if anything like some of the wires are stuck somewhere that they shouldn't be in the dial? It probably needs cleaning and lubricating which you will likely soon have lots of help with. Or you can send it out to Steve Hilsz for a vacation and tune up!

Terry

RAW302

Yes, I had previously opened up the case and everything seemed to be in order, no wires obstructing anything.  I opened it up again and propped it up (see photo) trying to determine why the finger wheel was getting stuck on the return.  Went to lunch, came back and spun the dial and it returns smoothly every time I dial if the phone is propped upside down like this.  As soon as I put the phone upright, the dial goes back to the same problem (dials fine up the the finger stop, then gets stuck and needs a nudge to make the return to original position).  Something related to the law of gravity but I can't figure out what the deal is.  Any thoughts?
Rachel

WesternElectricBen