News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

This is why I love this hobby...

Started by Greg G., August 26, 2011, 04:14:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Greg G.

Most of the time, even a technically untrained and inexperienced person such as myself can work on and get these things functioning with only a screwdriver.  Often it's only a matter of moving a wire or two or three around.  Like with my Leich's I just got.  The schematics gave easy to follow instructions for converting from local to common battery.  In this case, even when there is a problem that I have no technical knowledge of, I was able to resolve by observation.  Example - the phone wasn't hanging up when the handset was on it, but it would hang up if I pushed the switch hook plunger down with my finger.  That told me that something wasn't making contact well enough with just the handset on it.  So I took the cover off and observed it's function and noticed that looking at it from the back, the left side of the switch hook is supposed to make contact with another metal part when depressed.  A simple "high-tech" adjustment fixed that (bending it slightly so the left side was a little lower).

I just did one of the two I got recently last night, and it now functions as an answer-only telephone, although the receiver has a hiss in it.  Only thing I did different from what the schematics said is I did not remove the generator, I just disconnected it, taped off the spade wire ends and left it in.  There was one part of the schematics that I didn't understand though, where is says "Strap 5 & 8."  I just left them as is, and it seems to function ok.  I also wasn't sure of the difference between "metallic" and "grounded" ringing, so I went with the "metallic".  I did everything else it said to do for a non-dial phone.