News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Did I mess up?

Started by Gary G, February 17, 2010, 01:24:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gary G

So, I'm new to restoration and I lightly sanded the top flatside of a G1 bakelite handset with 2000 grit sandpaper.  Bad me !  I'm over it, but is it possible to get the luster back?  I tried brasso, but that made no difference.  I was able to get some shine back with car polish or minwax.  It's not bad, but you can still see some mottling when viewed closeup or under certain light conditions.  Is there hope, or just a good lesson learned?  Thanks.

LarryInMichigan

Gary,

I have never personally seen a bakelite handset which looked solidly black.  There is always some of the brown, from the wood flour, showing through.  I usually lightly sand out rough spots and then rub with Brasso.  There is usually a dull film over the bakelite, and enough polishing makes the surface shiny.  I then polish with plastic polish.  If the surface is not black enough, black wax shoe polish can help.

Larry

Craig T

A picture would be great, but just off the cuff, Novus #2 may still help at this point. It will give you some color back.

If you have the speckled brown or tan bits showing, you are into the wood flour and may need to hit it with a coat of black shoe polish as your are beyond the thin layer of bakelite on the handset if you want it to be one color black.

There are other options too, so just hang tight a bit and some of the others will chime in also. Those are a couple things I have learned from the folks here at the forum. I have had great results with both.

Larry you beat me to the punch  :)

Dan/Panther