News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Rotary Phones and VOIP, Some Light at the end of the Tunnel

Started by therealtomlapp, April 25, 2017, 08:05:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

therealtomlapp

Hello, I am new to this forum and joined because I wanted to share this really neat project I have been involved with.  A little about myself, I am a software designer with roughly 30 years of experience, am very much into technology, but at the same time I have a huge taste for anything vintage.  My entire house is literally from the 70s from the televisions, phones, appliances, etc.  To save money I dropped the regular phone company and went to voice over IP.  I was shortly disappointed when I found out that I was unable to dial out using my rotary phone.  For months I threw around the idea of wiring up one of those dialgizmos, but I just couldn't do it.  For me I like to pay very close attention to detail, and with the rotary to pulse converters you can hear the DTMF tones as you dial, and that kind of makes things seem a little fake.  For me I want a legitimate pulse dial, at the same time I also want cheap phone service.

Rotary phones and ATA devices.