News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE 120AL

Started by Bondepart, September 13, 2011, 06:34:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bondepart

Hi, This is my first post. Sorry if it is in unsuitable place.
Couple days ago I bought Western Electric 120AL (pictures bellow).
I have a some questions concerning this model.
Witch year it was produced?
What was the original color of this model? I don't know witch material it was produced? Maybe brass? Probably it was polished once?
My phone has strange four holes one the base(one of them has thread- the biggest one) . What it could be? Could you show me pictures of original WE 120AL?
I will be grateful for any help.
Thank you.
Sorry for possible mistakes in this post. I don't speak English every day. 

Wallphone

Welcome to the Forum Bondepart. I'm not an expert on candlestick phones, or anything else for that matter but according to this site < http://tinyurl.com/696ypj9 > I would guess that it came out in the early 30's when Western Electric introduced their Anti-sidetone circuit. I don't know what the hole in the front is that is surrounded by the little holes, maybe there was a switch there at one time. Both the cords should come out the hole that has the lip on it. Then you need to swivel the transmitter 180* so that the hookswitch is on the left. After doing that you will need to take the little screws out of the transmitter and rotate it 180* so that the label is in the correct position.
Doug Pav

Doug Rose

Quote from: Wallphone on September 13, 2011, 07:07:50 AM