News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Trouble with WE 202 and WE 302

Started by caltx01, June 17, 2013, 10:01:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

caltx01

I posted this in the general discussion forum but then realized it probably belongs here instead.  Sorry about that, I am a newbie to the forum.

About 10 years ago I obtained a WE 202-D1 with E-1 handset, and a WE 302.  I installed mini-networks in both of them and put a small in-line ringer on the 202.  Both of these telephones have been working fine with my telephone service ever since.

Just recently I noticed that both of the phones stopped ringing when a call was received.  Upon investigation I noticed that now when I pick up the handset on both phones and turn the dial, the dial tone returns after the dial stops.  If I depress the switch hook the dial tone stops as it should, but it seems the dial pulses are no longer being recognized.

Since this happened with both telephones I am pretty sure it must be associated with some change made by my service provider - Suddenlink.  However, I called their technical service line and they assure me that there is nothing that they are doing that should be causing this problem.

So, I am looking for advice from the forum as to how to tackle this problem and what to investigate.

Thanks for all advice!

Cal in Texas

Phonesrfun

Is your provider giving you dial tone via a VOIP system, and if so, did they recently chang out your ATA, or router?

If it happened to both phones at the same time, and since it apparently affects both ringing and dialing, the chances are it is the provider and not you who has changed something.  Did they recently upgrade some part of their system to fiber from copper?  Even if they leave the final link to your house as copper, sometimes that change can have an effect on your service.

So, back to you with questions...
-Bill G

caltx01