"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Closed circuite telephone system for a 70's themed hotel

Started by jcampbell, May 27, 2014, 05:32:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcampbell

Hi All

I am a newbie here,  thanks for welcoming me to this great forum.

My name is Jai,  a network engineer in London and I am helping one of our departments with a project over the upcoming weeks.

Via Google and quite a few phone calls I have been brought to  this forum, we are designing a 70s hotel bar/lobby for a heartbreak hotel ( which is a reinvention of our large hall space) We are hoping to have telephones on the tables that you can dial a neighbouring table & "chat" ...

We would "like" to use old analogue off the shelf telephones,  or analogue looking, similar to  HS-6 units but I am now setting on digital telephones...

I need a device to network the phones together,  ie a pbx or similar but possibly a wireless solution,  I am aware of the costs this may involve converting analogue to digital etc,  so a wired solution is workable if a wireless solution is not possible or too expensive.

http://www.clearcom.com/product/accessories/intercom-handsets/hs-6

Any Ideas on what hardware I would need to do this... the network is closed so we only need to have calls internally, not dialing an external line.

Cheers

Jai

DavePEI

Look into a Panasonic 616 KSU which will connect 16 lines with an intercom function. Phones used may be POTS, i.e. 302, 500, etc. These may be found for under  $100 and require a minimum of programming - in fact merely require a reset at best. Two digit numbers for each station, i.e. 21, 22, 23, 24, 25....

Simple wiring - each phone plugs into a port on the 616.

They can be connected to external lines too, but don't necessarily have to be,

see:

http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?board=62.0

Dave
The Telephone Museum of Prince Edward Island: