News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

The Latest Haul, How did I do?

Started by MyDodgeDip, March 27, 2012, 07:51:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MyDodgeDip

Once again, I went to a car swap meet and came home with phones instead of car parts...  :D  I basically impulse bought them so I'm wondering what I got other than a bunch of old phones.  I'd hate to bring anything too special to work to rent as a prop, I'd rather see it go to a better home.  Any dates/info you can give me on anything is greatly appreciated.  Also curious what they're worth to see if I paid too much or not  :-[   :D Can't wait to get them all cleaned up!

Stromberg-Carlson with crank. Crank is a bit stiff, probably needs oil, bells work though. 

North Electric Galion, right? (I'm still learning) Dial needs some cleaning and oil.  I've read that North used various dials for their phones, don't see a lot with the chunk missing from them like this one. Is that an odd dial? 

I love this little guy.  Stomberg Carlson space saver type phone.  I would love to get this working and put it in my kitchen.  I don't want to mess with it until I make sure it's not super rare or something because I was thinking of painting it.  I do not like messing up nice original items but if they are common enough I won't feel too bad since I'll keep it forever. 

A couple of Wheeler handsets.  Are these test set type things for the phone company  or did they have other uses?

This black, metal dial 500 was too nice to pass up.  Looks almost like new except for a little shelf rash and a twisted cord. 

And finally, a tan princess.  This will most likely end up at work since we get a lot of requests for them!

JorgeAmely

The second phone mostly likely has an AE dial with a special finger wheel. Rumor has it that it was optional equipment and that it allowed customers to clean dust from under the wheel.
Jorge