News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

What is this Automatic Electric model??? Leich model 90

Started by Karen, January 25, 2012, 10:31:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Karen

I just got it and the seller claimed he's had it since the 60's and was told it was originally from the 40's.  I dont know, but...  I havent been able to find any date whatsoever inside it.  Just the AE diamond and a "840N" on the inside of the dial.  

Do any of you recognize it?

ESalter

I'm no expert on these, but that's a Leich telephone.  I believe they used those as both desk telephones like you have and also the top section of a magneto "beehive" wall phone.  It should say "LEICH" in the middle of that bar on the underside of the grip on the handset.  I think they are 40s era, but I could be wrong.  ---Eric

Karen

Aaaaah yes you're right!  THANKS! 
The letting under the handset is so covered from the white that I couldnt tell what it is.  But yes, it says LEICH.  Wish I could find a date in there somewhere, but at least I have a general range now. 

Its pretty cool. It doesnt have an actual bell, but its ring sounds like a playing card in the spoke of a bike wheel.  Do you know what thats called?

LarryInMichigan

The phone is definitely a Leich.  I don't think that they were actually made in that color though.  Someone probably painted it.  I would expect that the phone has an Automatic Electric mini network and a buzzer inside of it.  Most of those phones were made to be connected to a magneto box.

Larry

Grumpy99705

It's a Leich model 90. It was introduced as competition for the WE 302. There was a "subset" base that could be added to the phone that would make it a full desktop phone.
I've never seen one that color, they've seemed to have done such a good job on it Im not sure I would change it