News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

how did so many vintage phones manage to survive?

Started by kwatter04, November 27, 2011, 05:07:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kwatter04

I'm still fairly new to all of this, so please help me understand something: how did old phones (particularly pre-500 phones, and for the purposes of this discussion I'll focus on Ma Bell/WE) manage to escape destruction and still exist today? Let's take for example the beloved WE 302.  It was produced in the late 30's and 40's and then phased out as the 500 was introduced. These phones were rentals, and (as I understand) returned to WE as the 500's were deployed. How did some of these returned 302's escape destruction/landfill/conversion to a 5302? shouldn't the 302 have been practically made extinct by WE decades ago? Were some not returned like they should have been? did WE employees save some of the phones from being junked? any estimates on the survival rate of the 302? ahhh, so many questions!!

Kyle

deedubya3800

This is one of my favorites topics for discussion! :D Here's a thread from a while back where we talked about this very thing: http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?topic=224

GG

A few things:

302s, as well as AE 40s, Kellogg 1000s, SC 1243s, and suchlike "1940s/50s" phones, were also sold to non-Bell "Independent" telcos, in large quantities, hundreds or thousands at a time. 

The WE 302s that were used by independents, did not have the "Bell System" marking on the handset, only "Western Electric" and "F1" and "Made in USA" etc., all the details of which can be found on Paul F's website.