"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Hello, New Member Here! - Marcelo L.

Started by Marcelo L., October 06, 2011, 04:25:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marcelo L.

Hello,

I'm brand new to old telephones. I just picked up this Western Electric 202 Phone. I want to be able to get to it work with my Vonage (VOIP) phone service.

I've learned so far that my phone does not have an internal ringer and that I would need to get an external unit for it to function properly. Do I need a subset box or a ringer box or are they one and the same?

I've seen these phones for sale paired with black metal subset boxes; I much prefer the older
wooden boxes with the external bells, is this possible? If so, does it matter if it has a crank on it?

I've also read that I would need to upgrade the network to a modern network. I assume this is a component that is located within the subset/ringer box?

I just received the phone last night and gave it a good cleaning and polishing. I will have to replace the wiring as it is badly damaged. I'm also going to refelt the base.

Any other info, links, or resources you could send my way would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Marcelo

wds