and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Membership Classification - Stars etc

Started by Doug Rose, December 31, 2009, 11:00:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

This is just an observation and not a criticism. What is a:

Hero Member...there are alot of you

I am a Newbie, which I understand, I am new to the group.

Also, what is the Star System.

thanks....Kidphone
Kidphone

HobieSport

Thanks for asking that Doug.

Membership classification on these forums has nothing to do with knowledge or understanding of telephones. It's just about how many times that a person posts comments.

For example, you are a real serious respected telephone collector and you are classified as a "beginner", while I am a newbie to telephones with very little phone skills, and yet I am a "hero member", just because I am am a silly idiot who likes to chat.

I felt so embarrassed about this that last July or so I quit the forum and later started over again, just to lower my membership status.

-Matt

McHeath

Basically it's just a reward given to people for making more posts, a way to encourage involvement.  Sort of like the little stars we were given in elementary school when we were nice to Billy and let him use our crayons, even though at recess he had called us a booger and insulted our mom's shoes.   :D

After 50 posts you move up to Jr. Member and so on, then at 500 you reach "Hero Member", which also means you spend way too much time posting and thinking about old phones.   ;)

And as Hobie said it's not a reflection skill level, as I may have a zillion posts but I essentially know nothing about old phones.

HobieSport

-Matt

Doug Rose

thanks guys....I got it....Kidphone
Kidphone

Dennis Markham

Doug, it's a system built into the Simple Machines forum software.  Nothing that someone (me) manually attaches. 

HobieSport

You're already a hero here, Doug. :)
-Matt

paul