News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Help needed with a Northern Telecom 554B wallset

Started by Faza, April 30, 2015, 10:40:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Faza

Hi guys need a bit of help repairing an old phone I rescued from work, once working I would like to use it in my garage.
I have connected the phone to see if it works and it has a dial tone but does not recognize that you are dialing a number.
I have found a broken leaf switch which I think engages the dialer ?? and the switch that sends the pulse when dialing does not seem to be working.
Can I buy the parts to repair or would it be best to change the entire dial mechanism.
Sorry if my terminology is incorrect I am an electrical instrument technician by trade but know very little about phones.
A few photos below
Cheers
John

Faza

Hi guys need a bit of help repairing an old phone I rescued from work, once working I would like to use it in my garage.
I have connected the phone to see if it works and it has a dial tone but does not recognize that you are dialing a number.
I have found a broken leaf switch which I think engages the dialer ?? and the switch that sends the pulse when dialing does not seem to be working.
Can I buy the parts to repair or would it be best to change the entire dial mechanism.
Sorry if my terminology is incorrect I am an electrical instrument technician by trade but know very little about phones.
A few photos below
Cheers
John

G-Man

Northern Telecom 554B wallset with most likely a 425QE1 instead of a 425B network.Here is a service note describing it from Nortel:

2.03 The 425B Network has been replaced by later models which are identical except that they have additional screw terminals. Thelater type networks provide for equalization.

compubit