News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Bakelite 300 series (UK) - Dial stuck and need some conversion help...

Started by viper, December 13, 2010, 05:26:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

viper

Hi all, my name is Neil, i'm from the UK, living in a place called Redditch, which is just outside Birmingham, West Midlands and have just bought a Bakelite 332 (unconverted) phone for restoration.

Now please do bear with me, i'm a complete novice and this is my first phone, i'm not an electrician but have done a lot of research since the phone arrived late last week and came across this site, which is a fantastic resource! I'm really really impressed.

Now since the phone arrived, i've had two problems with it.

1)The type 12 dial has completely seized! I've stripped it down, gave it a clean and oiled the cogs. The governor will spin freely until its attached to the rest of the cogs, then it seizes again. I've taken out the governor, oiled both sides, loosened the screw that adjusts the speed etc and its still sticking.

I have paid for a replacement but i'd like to fix this one if its possible.

Here's a piccy of the dial:

2) The other problem i'm having is with the conversion wiring. I've followed this guide here, and followed it exactly so looks identical to piccy on blog. The problem is that it will ring, but no dial tone and won't pickup calls.

http://antiquephones.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2007-01-01T00%3A00%3A00Z&updated-max=2008-01-01T00%3A00%3A00Z&max-results=1

anyway, this is how my phone looks at the minute.

I've still to change the cord to a braided one instead of curly, i'm missing a foot underneath and i've got a cable grommet coming too.

NorthernMan