News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Stromberg-Carlson 500

Started by Mark Stevens, July 08, 2009, 06:11:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark Stevens

Hi kids! I thought I'd drop in to ask a stupid question. I picked up a swell Stromberg-Carlson model sc500D yesterday...in a shade of orange that's so bright it's blinding! Anyhow, someone had jerry-rigged it with an external toggle switch to disable the ringer. I removed that and found that the bells were waaay out of adjustment. I'm not an expert on WE 500s, but the SC appears to have a unique ringer.  There's what appears to be a torpedo-shaped weight on the clapper arm, just back from the clapper itself by about a half inch. Once I adjusted the bells the phone rings, but it sounds kind of dull.  I suspect that the "torpedo" is just slightly making contact with the alloy "body" of the ringer...the part behind the bells.  I think that's what's making the ring sound dull.  Anyone run into this before? Maybe I should have posted photos? DUH! I'll try to take a couple in a minute.  ;)

Dennis Markham

Mark, it sounds like you have a "frequency ringer".  Something in excess of 20Hz.  Is there a Hz designation somewhere on the ringer?  If it is a frequency ringer, it's not going to ring.  It may just tinkle as it vibrates back and forth.  A photo will help.

Nice to see you back on.  You must have been hearing me call your name in a post yesterday I made regarding a lack of posts in the blog portion of the site.

http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?topic=1245.msg15737#msg15737

Dan

I have the exact same phone. It had a freq. ringer like Dennis said. I changed out the housing and married it to a WE500 ($1 yard sale beige) and it rings like a champion. It comes out during halloween , along with the black 500