"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

What is this phone?

Started by Lee David Day, January 19, 2017, 11:59:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lee David Day

Dear Forum People,
This is my first try at real communication on the Forum. I hope this is the right place.

I have several old phones in my collection that I can't identify. I am going to try posting
some photos today so I can get help.

This phone has considerable wear. There is one foot missing, and the original letters and
numbers on the outer rim are mostly worn off. Notice the word OPERATOR is still visible
where it is was stamped. The paint or ink is gone. Believe it or not, even with one bell missing,
the ringer still works. It won't call out, the dial tone is still there after trying a number.

unbeldi

It looks like a Western Electric 5302, which was an upgrade of a 302 telephone with a new housing that had the general shape of a 500-type set.  These upgrades were performed in the distribution and repair centers to reuse good components from stock piles of returned 302 sets, but provide the custom with the look of one of the new telephones.

The B3A stamp indicates the ringer. A B3A ringer was normally used in a 306 telephone with an electron tube for ringing. Is it still in you set ?  An internal picture would help.
The upgraded version of a 306 was the 5306, but it may not have been upgraded that way.  Since the set rings, as you state, I am assuming it wasn't converted to a 5306.