News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

The Dead Princess

Started by vivi, September 24, 2010, 12:38:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vivi

Hi there. I am a newbie here and in the world of phone collecting so please bear with me as I might sound very ignorant. 

ISSUE: I am desperately trying to make a dead Princess phone (702B dated 9-69) come to life.  No dial tone, no incoming nor outgoing calls...she's dead.

WHAT I DID WHEN I RECEIVED PHONE FROM SELLER: (UNAWARE THAT IT MIGHT BE DOA)..... In order to be able to use the phone in my house, I bought a 4 wire half modular cord to rewire the phone thereby making it modular (so I can plug it into my wall). I removed the original cord (hard wired) and put the new one in its place (taking care to put each color wire where it originally was).

CONTINUED:  The phone came with the original 5 wire (hard wired) cord and I bought a "half modular" cord which has 4 spade wires on one end and a modular plug on the other. Of course I was missing 1 wire -the white one- But  I read on the porticus website that I should put the yellow wire were the white one used to be (on the transformer). So I did.

RESULT: I does nothing. She looks pretty but that's it.  I will take the advice given to me to just reinstall the original 6 wire cord and buy an adaptor for it. However, in theory, shouldn't it work with this cord too? I'd love to make it work with this cord and THEN continue spending money on it and keep it with it's original cord and an adaptor.

Any input, ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Here are the pictures of the wiring with new cord as she is now:
~ Vivi
Hello? Hello? Are you there? ;p

vivi

I'm sorry about the pictures' quality... if I need to take a specific picture that you don't see here that would help "diagnose" my phone's problems...please tell me and I'll take it and post right away.
thanks!
Vivi