"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Wiring Kellogg F118 to Kellogg 185 subset

Started by Nessie, September 01, 2016, 11:58:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nessie

Hi,
I am trying to connect a non dial Kellogg F118 candlestick phone to the phone network using a Kellogg 185 subset.  I am not very good at reading schematics, this is what I see. The phone has a terminal strip with numbers 1 to 4 then R R.  No 3 is not used.  One of the transmitter wires is connected to switch hook in the  no 2 position, the other transmitter wire is connected to no 2 terminal.

A jumper wire is connected on the switch hook spring that connects to the pivot to  no 2 terminal.  Another jumper runs from the top hook switch spring to the last R terminal.  Nothing is connected to the last hook spring on the switch hook that makes contact when the phone is off hook.

The receiver wires are attached to terminals 1 &2.  The 3 remainig wires that go to the subset are on terminal 4, R, & R.  They are all the same color.

I don't know if these wires are on the correct terminals.  By change I connected alligator clips from terminal 1 to L! on the subset & terminal 4 to L2 on the subset.  The phone  answers calls & rings.

I know this is not the proper way to connect the phone.

Do you guys have any suggestions on how this phone should be connected.  Thanks.

unbeldi

Is the 185 subset a flat contoured metal case with gongs on the front outside?

Do you have the diagram?

Can you show some pictures?

PS: this is a F-118 of 1921:

Nessie

The bells are inside the subset.

Nessie

photo

Nessie

I'm sure having trouble posting photos, sorry.  I have no diagram.

unbeldi

Thanks for the pics.
The induction coil in that subset looks like a 103A type.  The number might be stamped on the side of the unit in yellow ink.