"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

New to rotary: Need help with a S-C 1543w

Started by wheelhorse, June 12, 2012, 01:10:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wheelhorse

Hello all,

I am new to rotary phones. Most of my antique restoration has been radios, turntables, and kitchen appliances, so this is a whole new world :D

Anyway, I have a Stromberg-Carlson Model 1543w telephone I just picked up for $10 dollars to use as a home phone.  Right now, I have torn into in, checking wiring diagrams etc, but since Im not familiar with phones I don't know the first things to check.  Here is what I am experiencing.

When the phone is plugged into the socket and you pick up the phone, there is no dial tone.  There is however, power going to the headset as you can hear your voice in the earpiece.  When you push the disconnect with your fingers, it turns off the headset.  The rotary dial seems to operate correctly, and you can hear the pulses in the earpiece when you turn the dial but it does not dial out.

Here is how the line coming into the phone is connected:

Green (from line)  \
                              ------------ L-1
Red (from ringer)  /

Red (from line) -------------------L-2

Yellow (from line)----------------- G

Black (from line)       \
                                 ------------C-1
Black (from Ringer)  /

c-2 Empty

Any help would be awesome

G-Man

Wiring and schematics for the 1543W are included in the pdf shown in this link-                              http://tinyurl.com/7xplude

G-Man

Also, keep in mind that your instrument may have a two-step hookswitch, originally used for monitoring on a party-line, which requires an additional step to obtain dial-tone.

dsk

I have just read about those 2 step versions, but just try if may pull one of the plungers on the cradle further to make it working.   :P

dsk

wheelhorse

Okay...this is embarrassing...