News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

I need help. Phone won't do anything (AE 40).

Started by recrum, November 14, 2011, 10:08:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

recrum

I've check and rechecked all the wiring.  Phone won't do anything.  I'm new to automatic electric phones, only ever worked on kellogg and WE.  So any advice would be greatly appreciated on what I'm missing or where to even begin troubleshooting.

~Richard

JorgeAmely

Richard: Can you check if the capacitor attached to the base is OK?
Jorge

recrum

I know this will be a stupid question, but how can I go about doing that?  Normally I would just parts swap until I got it working.  But this one is my only AE, so I haven't accumulated any spare parts yet.

LarryInMichigan

Have you tried connecting a different handset to verify that the problem is not in the handset or handset cord?

Larry

recrum

The handset could cause the problem?  Cause it's like the phone line doesn't even know it's hooked up.  No dial tone, no ring.  I've take it off hook and can call back into the house from my cell and it goes through normally.

recrum

Ok on the handset advice, I went and opened it up.  It doesn't appear to be wired right.  Shouldn't there be wires coming through from the transmiter cup?

LarryInMichigan

Move the yellow wire to the terminal above it in the picture.  You may need to clean the contacts a bit also, or you may have some static.

Larry

recrum

DavePEI

Quote from: recrum on November 14, 2011, 03:16:50 PM
still no luck.
I hate to suggest this, but have you checked the continuity of the line cord? Using an ohmmeter, check each wire from end to end. Often, you will wind up with open wires, or bad crimps. You could be blaming the phone when the problem is actually in the cords...

Dave
The Telephone Museum of Prince Edward Island:
http://www.islandregister.com/phones/museum.html