"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Model 302 won't dial out

Started by Archie, September 07, 2011, 01:34:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Archie

Greetings Everyone!

Hi I am new here and this will be my first post. I am a retired Canadian Electronic Tech. worked as a support tech for 33 yrs. Phones were not on my list of jobs. Most of the stuff I worked on was found in research labs and physiotherapy clinics. The mind needs a little challenge now and then and I always admired the quality and reliability of the old phones so why not give this a try.

I have several old rotary phones in my home. Some I have had from new and lately I have been buying old phones from e-bay and flea markets. I love the way they are made in a way that pursues Excellence.... Excellence deserves to be capitalized!

It is my understanding that a Northern Electric and Western Electric phones are the same in parts and model numbers but differ in country of manufacture. I will refer to them as WE and NE phones.

I recently acquired a NE 302 phone from e-bay.ca that rings, has dial tone and I can have a conversation on but I cannot dial out with success. The dial out is usually interrupted by a recording that is telling me that I need to dial 1 or that the number I am calling is not a valid number etc. Not something I want to do very often for fear of calling someone at random in some far off country.

The phone base and induction coil have dates of 48. The ringer has a date of 53. The dial seems to be a number 6. I say this because it has 6 on the finger stop and it has a plastic cover on the dial contacts. It matches pictures I have seen on the net of number 6 dials. I would have expected a phone from 1948 to be a number 5 dial am I right?