News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Please Help! How do I connect a Candlestick to a WE 500 network

Started by sammytheboyboy, April 06, 2017, 03:21:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sammytheboyboy

Hello, I am fairly new at this and I am having a problem, any help would be greatly appreciated. I just purchased a candlestick desk set and am trying to wire it to an old 500 telephone as the subset. I was successful getting a dial tone and dialing out and transmitting but the hook switch does not work at all. It's like the phone is off the hook and I can't terminate the call. If I have the phone sitting and hung up, my line is busy when I try to call. Attached are some pictures of what I did. Thanks in advance. Rich.

TelePlay

How many contacts on the switch hook?

A picture would help.

sammytheboyboy

Thanks John, here is a picture.

sammytheboyboy

Hello, I am fairly new at this and I am having a problem, any help would be greatly appreciated. I just purchased a candlestick desk set and am trying to wire it to an old 500 telephone as the subset. I was successful getting a dial tone and dialing out and transmitting but the hook switch does not work at all. It's like the phone is off the hook and I can't terminate the call. If I have the phone sitting and hung up, my line is busy when I try to call. Attached are some pictures of what I did. Thanks in advance. Rich.

poplar1

(1) Red wire is connected to the subset, but not connected inside the phone.
(2) Yellow and black wires (from Y and BK on dial to subset) are probably not connected correctly. The dial shorts these together (except when pulsing out) so that is probably why you cannot hang up.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

unbeldi