News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Automatic electric, 3slot. how do I open? **Opened**

Started by Isobel23, September 01, 2016, 04:53:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Isobel23

Sorry everybody, this is probably a silly question but this is my first payphone. Ive looked around to see if anyone else has asked this, but I didn't see anything. mine is lpb-86-55, so I learned from other posts that it's self compensating and a semi-post pay. The back has no wires showing and I can't figure how to open it. I unscrewed some screws off the back but that didn't do it. The only key I have is to open the change box.
I'd like to see if it works. From what I've read it doesn't have a ringer, and as of now that'll be ok. It dials beautifully, just hope it works!
Does the 55 mean it's a 1955 phone (again, sorry, I am new to this?)
Also, this phone was a gift from a dear friend who's late husband retired from the local ph.company and was also a big collector. I'd never, ever sell it, but what would a phone like this be worth, $150-200?

TelePlay

poplar1

If the lock is original, then you will need a 29-S key.
55 is not the year.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Isobel23

Oh. I thought since it said automatic electric it was AE.
I looked at the link you posted and will see what I can do and do some more reading and homework.
Thanks

Dennis Markham

Quote from: Isobel23 on September 01, 2016, 08:10:17 PM
I looked at the link you posted and will see what I can do and do some more reading and homework.
Thanks

Isobel, I think what TelePlay meant:....the phone in the thread (link provided by TelePlay) is an N.E., not A.E. but similar.  Yours is obviously A.E. (Automatic Electric).

~Dennis

Isobel23

HarrySmith